For school children, their teachers have more influence on their intelligence and
social development than their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?
It is true that school children are at an impressionable age, and two strong
influences on their intelligence and social development are teachers and
parents. While I accept that teachers may have more influence on the intelligence
of their pupils, I would argue that parents probably exert a greaterinfluence on the
social development of their children.
In terms of encouraging the intellectual development and stimulating the intelligence
of school children, I believe that teachers play the major role. While not all teachers
are capable of inspiring their students, they are trained to impart their knowledge of
their subject areas in challenging and imaginative ways. For example, some
students owe their lifelong love of a subject to dedicated teachers who taught
this discipline in secondary school. Of course, at home parents may
also reinforce this passion by
encouraging study habits during the formative years of their children. Such support
is vital for academic achievement.
From the perspective of social development, I think that parents are mainly
responsible for guiding their children. Firstly, they spend far more time with their
children than any individual teacher is able to do. They can therefore monitor the
activities of children outside school hours, at weekends and during
holidays. Secondly, parents are able to provide role models in a whole range of
situations. These might include showing respect towardselders, choice of friends, or
proper behaviour in public when eating out in restaurants.
In conclusion, although teachers probably have a greater effect in stimulating the
intelligence of school children, parental influences on the development of children
are stronger in social situations.