For schoolchildren, their teachers have more influence on their intelligence and social development than their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Task 2

The effect of teachers and parents on children’s intellectual and social development is a major topic of concern on a global scale. While acquiescing in the view that parents play a noticeable role in developing children's study and social skills, I would contend that teachers exert a more significant effect.

On the one hand, there are two compelling reasons as to why I concede that parents have an important influence on children’s social abilities and academic performance. The primary reason is that talented and knowledgeable parents could successfully help their children achieve high academic results. This is because, in most cases, not only do these parents know better about their children but they also provide assistance and guidance when children study at home. Another convincing reason is that parents may produce a marked effect on improving their children’s socially necessary skills. A clear explanation is that almost parents educate their child to respect the old and mix with their peers, which can lead to an improvement in students’ social communication in the future.

On the other hand, I accept that teachers have a far more influence on students’ intelligence and social development. From the perspective of academic study, teachers will influence subtly on their students’ cultivation of study habits and learning method since the majority of students’ time is spent in the classroom. To explain, educators usually excel in professional knowledge and pedagogical skills which bring the teachers the abilities to help children excel academically. Regarding social development, It is the obligation of educators to guide students how to communicated and associated with peers in a proper way. One’s communicative skills and one’s social adeptness, as a consequence, could be fostered and developed.

To sum up, my view is that although both teachers and parents play a significant role in the intellectual and social development of schoolchildren, teacher create a slightly more influence.