Schools are teaching foreign languages to primary students. Do the pros outweigh the cons?

In the context of globalization, some governments have decided to introduce foreign tongues to the primary school curriculum. While I assume that there are some learning difficulties for students, the benefits still overshadow the drawbacks due to its effectiveness.

Based on the average cognitive and mental development of humans, schoolchildren at their tender ages might face challenges in attaining linguistic knowledge. In other words, as indiscipline and hyperactivity are common traits in children whose ages range from six to ten, learning new languages would become more demanding than in other age groups as this process necessitates concentration and commitment over a long period. Moreover, complex grammar structures are another obstacle that may discourage primary school students due to the fact that the attention span and memory capacity of children is inferior to those of adults.

Nevertheless, the key factor in picking up a strange tongue is the ability to imitate mouth movement and be sensitive to different sounds, which are advantages of children. Firstly, because children’s throats and mouths have yet to get used to their mother tongue, hence, it is still straightforward for them to speak with accurate accents as long as they are taught properly. However, mature people do not have that comfort and usually produce foreign sounds mixed with their mother tongue. In addition, despite encountering obstacles in memorizing grammar structures, the linguistics obtaining process in small children can go very well with vivid illustrations, vibrant sounds, and interesting games as these factors can stimulate their intellectual activities like studying significantly. Therefore, if given appropriate teaching methods, primary school students can shorten their language learning process noticeably when compares with older people.

In conclusion, in spite of some challenges that children have to overcome, adding foreign tongues to primary school courses is essential to enhance language fluency among pupils.