Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should not be taught at school as it is better to learn these from family and friends. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The role of schools in shaping future generations has been a subject of intense debates for decades. It is believed that schools had better prioritize on the transmission of academic knowledge instead of vocational skills. The ensuing paragraphs would outline my standpoint completely in favor of this statement and present supporting arguments.

Firstly, schools could provide the best conducive environment for the development of academic skills and cognitive abilities for children due to their distinct advantages in the realm of education. In detail, schools are designated institutions licensed by governments which endow students with qualified resources of formal knowledge and knowledgeable teachers who have advanced degrees in formal education. Additionally, examinations tailored by teachers and pressure for high grades that propels students to study is the distinctive medium provided by schools which could help learners assess their own academic abilities and enhance their academic performance.

Secondly, life skills such as cooking or woodwork appear not to be suitable for teaching in schools since those skills depend mainly on the personal aptitude and abilities of each learner as well as the financial capacity of educational institutions for necessary equipment. For instance, some in weak shape could not do manual labor such as building while some scared of fire or knife could not chop or do other cooking skills. Therefore, creating a suitable curriculum for all learners would be a taxing yet not fruitful mission for educators. The training on those life skills should be conducted by vocational schools where they endow students with appropriate learning environments or taught at the learners’ own home by their relatives.

In conclusion, schools should leverage their unique advantages by focusing mainly on formal schooling instead of wasting time on vocational skills. The training on such skills had better the work of family members or dedicated skills building classes.