Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

Whether the authorities or the private sector should be solely responsible for researches in science has caused a heated debate. In my view, those projects should be, by far, better funded and supervised by the state for the reasons I will outline below.

First, it seems that only government possesses sufficient resources, including human, finance and cutting-edge facilities, to carry out scientific research. The fact that these schemes require a great deal of investment, which may be beyond the individual’s capacity is undeniable. The Moon space exploration, operated by NASA, which would have not been an enormous success without the huge support from governments in the global scale, would serve as an excellent example.

Second, the authorities, who may be more influential, could get a wide range of scientific innovations effectively applied in daily lives. This is because they, as national leaders, could issue polices and regulations to attract enough attention from the public as well as relevant actions. Considering environmental degradation, scientist have been putting a lot of efforts in devising eco-friendly appliances, for instance, but this project will be wasteful if there are any restriction on using unrenewable energy and policies with an aim to raising the public’s awareness.

Granted, there is no doubt that private organizations have made considerable contribution to researching and developing technology and science, such as Clean Vegetation project or VinEco by Vingroup, which is designed to encourage citizens to consume food superior to their health. Nevertheless, these circumstances are few.

In conclusion, it is my belief that the government should play primary role in controlling and conducting scientific investigations rather than private companies due to its greater resources and influence.