Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that scientific projects should be conducted and managed by authorities instead of personal organizations. In my view, I believe that both governments and individual businesses also have the right and duty to carry out research.

On the one hand, governments should play the leading role in performing research due to a number of reasons. First of all, scientific research is the key to finding solutions to the pressing concerns of society. Thorough medical research, for example, needs to be conducted by governments to search vaccines against potential epidemics. Research into renewable energies is also crucial to deal with global warming. These kinds of research require a great deal of expenditure, which can only be afforded by the government. In addition, scientific studies sponsored and observed by authorities will ensure that reliable and ethical methods are used, and minimize the risk of these studies being used for criminal activities. For instance, without governments control, some companies can conduct illegal research involved in nuclear weapons or unethical human trials and that pose a serious threat to society.

However, scientific research requires to have larger sums to perform, therefore governments incapably cover to proceed with many scientific studies. In fact, many useful scientific discoveries have been made by private institutions. To illustrate, the invention of the iPhone by Apple, a corporation in the US began the era of smartphone and facilitated modern forms of interaction between people around the world. Furthermore, individual organizations can reduce governments' spending on scientific investigation, thence authorities can use that money to invest in important areas such as education and public health care services.

In conclusion, although governments should control and carry out major scientific research, private companies should not be deprived of the right to do studies.