Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

From my perspective, while I partially consent with the viewpoint that some experiments with possibly unexpected high-risk should be dominated by governments, others with controllable hazard can be carried out by private firms.

Multifarious points throw lights on my standpoints.First and foremost, scientific research categorized into different kinds, governments should be a rigorously surveillant and pay much attention to those which may lead to catastrophic consequences once an error occurred.To be specific, for one reason, researches referring to biology and nuclear will definitely jeopardize public safety if there is an incident like leak happens, to which governments need to be responsible for.For another, since the profit is the very one that private enterprises chase for, something that betrayed with security principles are more likely to take place, threatening society. Under the surveillance and control of government, such likelihood will be dramatically reduced, better than non-binding implements.

Whereas, autonomy should be reasonably given to private enterprises when it comes to regular and low-risk researches.The intention of research is to prove the hypothesis and eventually transfer the outcome into an innovative and practical one benefit for human beings.Without the debate of safety, legislation and morality, innovation always follows a principle—"The faster, the better.”This not only cater for the need in this fast-changing society but also intense competition between companies in the same field.Empirical evidence has witnessed that in some field, excessive intervention of governments will only lead to inefficiency, dragging the procedure.Furthermore, the scientific researches are normally costly, therefore, it will impose overwhelming pressure on fiscal expenditure if governments take control of all of them.

To encapsulate, surely government’s monitor is an irreplaceable element in scientific research, but we should give some space to private companies whose importance can’t be substituted.