Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The rapid pace of scientific development has given rise to the demand for conducting individual projects of companies. Notwithstanding the security of and ample financial aid available for such governments' research, I firmly believe that businesses should have a right to control their activities for the benefits they bring to the society.

On the one hand, the view that scientific investigation should be taken under the supervision of government agencies is reasonable to some extent. One justification for this is that such projects often involve high levels of secrecy and require substantial resources which private companies are unable to afford. The confidentiality of some sensitive information must be held in higher esteem in research about nuclear power, military intelligence or national defense which could pose pressing threats to the country once it is leaked to the rivals and only government interventions are allowed. Some research even needs years of commitment and the process might be too long for the private agencies to go through.

On the other hand, I believe that it is necessary to have business involvement in scientific research. Admittedly, this group is inextricably associated with the market needs. In other words, they represent the public's fundamental requirement since their services are often the reflection of consumer preference. Commodities related to cosmetic industry or medical supplements are some of the indispensable parts in our lives and it is more efficient for the private sector to participate since they are profit driven. Hence, government expenditure could be better spent on other fields such as social welfare or funding business for better product quality, which could indirectly benefit the civilians when they are well-taken care by the state and the enterprises are offered a greater sense of financial security since the manufacturing activities are facilitated.

To conclude, governments and private organizations should be actively involved in scientific research. This could promote the cooperation of both state-owned research centers and individual research institutes, creating more tangible applications for our united progress.