Scientists say that in the future humanity will speak the same language. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is scientifically claimed that all nations around the world will use the same language in the future. In my opinion, this is both positive and negative.

On the positive side, the synchronous use of language contributes to cross-cultural communication as well as verbal communication between people in different countries. This creates an opportunity for better cultural propagation as it will be easier for people to understand other people from other nations. In others aspects of global communication, such as science or economy, recognizing a common language erases communication barriers and improves global trading across the world. This can devote to the revolution of the world economy. Taking English as an example for the common language used globally, English boost efficiency as well as prevent incomprehension. Also, the exchange of information on transaction contracts or agreements will be tremendously prompted. As a result, there would be little need for manuals to be written in different languages.

On the negative side, if global civilians adopted international language, this would be an erase of minority cultures. If the extinction of others languages happens, people will live a simple and monotonous world. Moreover, some individuals, the young generation, in particular, may underestimate the value and meaning of their expression, greatly damaging the traditions and identity of their nations. For example, if people around the world speak the same voice, tourists will no longer have an opportunity to enjoy the rich historical heritage of other nations.

In conclusion, the prediction that in the future, humans will use the same language for communication can pose dangers as well as benefits at the same time.