Scientists say that in the future humanity will speak the same language. Do you think this is a positive or negative social development?

Mankind has stepped into a new era where communication becomes more and more important. Thus, scientists predict that one language will become native for people around the world. In my opinion, while it is convenient to help people easily communicate, using only one language is not ideally positive.

On the one hand, speaking one language can help to create better connections. For the countries, this helps the governments to negotiate more easily with other nations. By direct understanding without any translations, representatives of a country can reduce their time to make decisions in future international conferences. For the people, speaking one language will help when they want to have conversation everywhere in the world. For example, when foreign tourists come to visit other countries, they will find it easier to talk to local people because they know their language is being used natively worldwide.

On the other hand, there will be some problems if all nations want to speak one language. The first issue is that what language will be chosen to be official among the others. Such issue will not have the solution any time soon because every country wants their language to be known worldwide. Thus, this will finally lead to disagreements or even conflicts between nations. The second problem is that when speaking one language for a long time, people will forget their own languages after a few generations. In addition, each language is unique and represents each country’s culture. Therefore, the world’s diversity of cultures could be endangered in the future.

In conclusion, if the prediction of the scientists does happen in the future, I believe there will be more negative effects than positive ones.