Sending criminals into prisons is the best way to reduce the rate of crime in society. Do u agree or not?

In recent years, the question of whether imprisoning is the most effective solution to prevent crime has been receiving a great deal of public attention. While this idea appears a rational suggestion due to its merits, education is considered as a more humane approach and should be adopted to tackle crime.

On the one hand, prison plays an integral role in addressing crime. First, by meting out harsh punishments to criminals such as life imprisonment or death penalty, the government deters would-be delinquents from committing crimes. This means that the government can make an example out of the convicts, which reduces crime rates down the road. Second, since offenders pose a myriad of threats to the society, they have to be put in prison. In fact, prison sentence not only can halt illegal activities of law-breakers but also separates offenders from good-hearted citizens, which avoids abetment.

Nevertheless, education also plays a complementary role in reducing the crime rate. First, plenty of evidence has shown that the ignorance of law results in unintentionally breaking the law or becoming victims in some situations such as smuggling, drug trafficking, counterfeiting. Therefore, with a view to mitigating the crime, people from all walks of life should be taught about laws and are prepared to avoid these situations. Second, in lieu of punishment, the governments should focus on rehabilitation programs, including vocational training and counseling doctoral programs, which plays a vital role to get lower the recidivism rate. By participating in these programs, prisoners may be encouraged not only to develop occupational skills, such as cooking or using computers, but also to resolve psychological problems, helping inmates reintegrate into society after being released.

In conclusion, prison sentences are one useful weapon in the fight against crime, but education should be considered as an alternative when dealing with criminals. If the government provides a better education, they can reduce the crime rate.