Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while other believe that would be a waste of money.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The issue of local dialects which used by a minor percentage of people and whether hey should be protected through governmental fund or not, is turned to matter of debate these days. I personally believe every effort should be done to prevent these small languages from extinction.

Those who are supporters of only one official language argue that funds must be allocated to only main language of a country in order to divert extra money, which might be needed to spend on maintenance of small languages, towards other basic infrastructures including education and sanity. Taking the health system as an example, can be profited the most from the funds which supposed to be invested on small dialect. Furthermore, by using one common language, every misconception derived from diverse idioms that might be implicated by a minority groups could be prevented and this can be lead to more unity across the country.

However, I strictly am in favor of those who are supporters of governmental funding on local dialects because of cultural and national reasons. Local languages are considered as a great part of the culture in every small district whose people are communicating by it. For example, Kurdish dialect in western art of our country is as important as economy for Kurd society. Moreover, the sense of patriotism, which can be emerged through these languages among their speakers should not be overlooked. This kind of sensations, provided that to be conducted in a logical way by authorities, might lead to boost nationalism all over a country.

In conclusion, while investing on only one language has its own benefits, I think funding and maintaining minority languages seems much more reasonable.