Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

These days, several languages are in risk of disappearing since they are spoken by minorities. The way I see it, there is a suggestion that local authorities should spend money on saving these languages while others think that is a waste of money. I am in favour of the first opinion and I shall address both in this essay.

For a variety of reasons, saving these minor languages can be seen as a financial waste. First and foremost, these languages are only spoken by a small section of society. Therefore, investing large sums of money in expensive education programs may be a highly risk investment. Especially, local authorities will cover expenses including facilities, mentors and marketing with taxes from the residents. This amount of money should be invested more in public services for them more than languages that are not widely spoken. Furthermore, if these initiatives are implemented, linguistic barriers will be created among residents of a nation, which will have more drawbacks than advantages.

However, I have a strong preference for investing money in these language-saving programs. Not only do these languages serve communicative functions, but they also contain historical worth. With their extended life spans, it is mainly by these minor languages that archeologists can do research about out human evolution process. A language is the soul of a nation. If that language disappears, the soul of that ethnicity no longer remains. That extinction more likely lead to despair than satisfaction for the cultural diversity.

In conclusion, I have long held the deep-seated belief that it is not a misusing of funds to preserve minor languages, which are directly associated with cultural value. Needless to say, it is our duty to safeguard these values, as well as feeling content with them rather than ignoring their disappearance.