Shopping is the favorite pastime for most of the young people. Why do you think is that? Do you think they should be encouraged to do some other useful activities?

It is commonly believed that shopping is the popular activity the youngsters spend spare time on. From my perspective, the reasons which lead to that trend are the desirement to be satisfied and enhance their own self-esteem. However, there are many other things worth doing rather than shopping.

Purchasing items provides young customers with mentalistic fulfillment as a result of coverage marketing. A huge number of eye-catching advertisements on television and social media are attributed to draw the young’s attention to purchase. Whenever they take money out of the pocket, they will feel satisfactory for having fulfilled their needs and adore themselves more. In addition, more and more young clients spend means for leisure because of the rapid development of electronic commercial marketplace, which forces people to spend more time surfing their websites with a diversed range of products and many bargains, especially in the period of Covid-19 outbreak when people have to stay at home more. Besides, young people whose low self-esteem could feel more confident and increase their own evaluation when purchasing more than others or spending money on expensive items.

However, shopping with the purpose of killing time should not be encouraged and continued in a long term. The young, who are considered by many that still have a lot of time and oppoturnities to enhance themselves, should make use of their spare time to do other meaningful things. They could improve their skills to chase their dreams or hobbies such as being an artist, a writor, a designer namely or to stand the chance to get a better job in the future by gaining more knowledge or acquiring essential skills. Rather than spending time on shopping, they should also strengthen the relationships in their family and with their friends.

Many think that the youngsters’ frequent activity in their free time is purchasing goods. That could help young people feel comfortable and self-confident, but besides spending time wandering in stores or on online websites, the young should consider using that time in other meaningful kinds of work.