Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly thought that the high school's curriculum should consist of mandatory volunteering activities, such as participating in a charity organisation, enhancing the residential area or providing education to children. From my perspective, I partly agree with this opinion because of its benefits for the community. However, unpaid work should not constitute much time in students' schooling programmes.

Offering social services without payment could make students responsible for their community. It also provides them with social skills and humane characteristics namely sympathy, care for people around them, and enthusiasm. Therefore, they will become a good citizen. Another advantage of devoting to the community willingly is enhancing students' chance to get a better job because it is one of the prerequisites when a company recruits employees. In addition, contributions to society will make high school students achieve an abroad scholarship more easily in some countries, for example, Vietnam.

However, doing unpaid community service should not become compulsory in the curriculum and take much time which students spend on studying. At the age of adolescents, they still need to concentrate on studying and outdoor activities. In addition, high school students are teenagers who are under the age of being workforce so that they should be paid for their work.

In conclusion, although devoting to the community is important and beneficial, unpaid social work should not be considered compulsory in high school students' schooling curriculum.