Shopping is the favorite pastime for most of the young people. Why do you think is that? Do you think they should be encouraged to do some other useful activities?

It is commonly believed that shopping is the popular activity the youngsters spend spare time on. From my perspective, the reasons which lead to that trend are the desirement to be satisfied and enhance their own self-esteem. However, there are many other things worth doing rather than shopping.

Purchasing items provides young customers with mentalistic fulfillment as a result of coverage marketing. That eye-catching advertisements are shown regularly and repeatedly on television and social media is attributed to draw the young’s attention to purchase. Therefore, taking money out of the pocket makes them satisfactory for having fulfilled their needs. In addition, more and more young clients spend means for leisure because of the rapid development of electronic commercial marketplace, which forces people to spend more time surfing their websites, especially in the period of Covid-19 outbreak when people have to stay at home more. Besides, young people whose low self-esteem could feel more confident and increase their own evaluation when purchasing more than others or spending money on expensive items.

However, shopping with the purpose of killing time should not be encouraged and continued in a long term. Many people believe that the young, who still have a lot of time and opportunities to improve themselves, should use their free time to accomplish other significant things. They could develop their abilities in order to pursue their aspirations or interests, such as becoming an artist, writer, or designer, or to improve their chances of getting a better job in the future by learning more information or acquiring essential skills. They should not devote much time to shopping but to strengthening their ties with their family and friends.

Many think that the youngsters’ frequent activity in their free time is purchasing goods. That could help young people feel comfortable and self-confident, but besides wasting time wandering in stores or surfing the internet, they should put their time to better use.