Some people think that children perform better in a single-sex school compared to a mixed school.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been a widely known belief in that when children receive single-gender education, they will learn and perform more effectively than learning in a co-educational evironment. From my perspective, I partly disagree with this statement for a number of reasons.

On the one hand, learning in a single-sex school has some positive aspects. The first one is that when studying together with boys, girls can easily be intimidated. Therefore, girls learning together provide a comfortable learning environment, which is the motivation for them to progress quicker. Another advantage single-gender education brings is that it can avoid early relationships between boys and girls. As children grow up and become teenagers, they develop hormones and begin curious about the opposite sex. Therefore, in a mixed school, it can be problematic. The majority of students start their relationships at teenager age, which lead to their lower performance at school and parent’s anxiety.

On the other hand, co-educational school is a much smarter choice for parents in certain circumstances. The first reason is that having two genders learning together in the same classroom creates competition between boys and girls, which not only makes them self-confident but encourages them to succeed in the future career and life. Childern also can be given a chance to communicate, understand and develop team working skills with the opposite sex, which is completely lacking in single education. Because of the difference in view about the world, both boys and girls can learn from their classmates’ perspectives. In addition, efficient team working skill is one of the most crucial requirements for a well-paid job, so that students having enhanced it from schooling will stand a better chance to their future occupation.

In conclusion, both single-gender schools and mixed schools have their own advantages and disadvantages. However, I partly disagree with the opinion that children can progress better when studying in single-sex education, so that parents should depend on their children’s personality and needs to decide whether they are going to receive education.