Shops in the countryside are fewer and fewer, so people tend to go to stores in the towns and cities, and then lead to their inconvenient life. Car use also causes pollution. Is this phenomenon more harmful than the end?

The trend towards people visiting stores in towns and cities is increasingly prevalent because of the effect of fewer shops in their neighbourhood. In my opinion, while this causes people to experience an inconvenient life, the consequence including pollution can be more damaging.

It is true that shopping at distant destinations could have several inconveniences caused to people. These inconveniences include the increased petroleum costs and time that people spend on roads, which accordingly make people unable to strike a balance in their budget. For example, my sister, living in a rural area, usually spend an hour on a daily basis driving to the supermarket, which is located in the city centre. Not only does this cause her to spend more time and efforts on daily shopping but it also reduces the amount of time that is supposed to prepare the meals earlier.

Apart from the cause of an inconvenient life, environmental problems caused by cars and other vehicles that are used for shopping are also more devastating. Due to an upward trend towards people driving to distant shops, the usage of private vehicles accordingly increases as well. To power these vehicles, fuels such as coals, petroleum, and oil are of necessity, all of which are thought to have an adverse impact on the environment. Thus, the more the number of cars hit the road, the more amount of toxic gases emitted into the atmosphere. Yet, this also contributes to such environmental issues as air pollution, greenhouse effect, and global warming.

In conclusion, shopping at distant shops could have a negative impact on people’s lives to some extent. Besides that negativity, the ecological consequences including the increased toxic gases released into the atmosphere are more significant.