Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is said that the responsibility of improving the environment should solely be based on the effort of governments and other companies rather than that of individuals. I completely disagree with this and also believe that personal efforts should not be ignored due to several reasons.

On the one hand, it is true that governments play an indispensable role in environmental improvements, especially public awareness. This strategy could be effective because it helps people recognize the consequences caused by such different activities as littering or deforestation, which have a negative impact on the environment. Besides that, many organizations can take advantage of advanced technology to substitute harmful materials to the more eco-friendly ones. For instance, there is no longer the usage of plastic packaging in Vietnam, instead, local people tend to use biodegradable bags, which make the decomposing process more environmentally friendly and time-saving.

However, alongside the influence of governments and companies, I believe that each person can contribute to environmental improvements in different ways. On top of that, people could learn how to categorize between non-biodegradable and biodegradable wastes and also avoid using disposable products. For example, there are numerous courses both online and offline, providing helpful lessons to deal with this issue. Second, children should be prepared with schooling lessons regarding the project of improving the environment such as planting and funding.

In conclusion, while the role of governments and large companies is essential in the goal of improving the environment, I believe that as long as each individual is well-conscious about this issue, the outcome would be more significant.