Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Some people say that governments should not invest their budget in arts and instead, this money can be spent on other sectors. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this for two main reasons. First, arts are beneficial to the educational system as well as the cultural values of a country and second, they are an economic source to some extent.

In terms of cultural values, arts including paintings, sculptures, architectures, and music play an integral role in shaping national identity because most artworks convey good ideas about love, compassion, and empathy, which enables local people to have thorough insights into their country and how it has evolved. Apart from that, the arts also contribute to the educational system. For example, students, besides learning mathematics and science, spend their time participating in art courses and exhibitions, their creativity and imagination will be nurtured.

Furthermore, alongside the influence of arts on cultural values and the educational system of a country, they are also a decent source of economy. In some countries such as Korea and the US, their music industries could earn millions of dollars every year. If artists or musicians can create high-quality products, this number will be significantly increased. In another case, arts help attract a huge number of tourists from other parts of the world and accordingly boost the economy of a country. For example, Eiffel Tower, which was the tallest man-made structure for many years, has generated a remarkable profit and gained its popularity for France.

In conclusion, although some people ignore the significance of arts and claim that it is pointless for governments to invest in, I, however, believe that arts make a great contribution to not only the educational system as well as the cultural values of a country but also its economy.