Should animals be used in testing new drugs and procedures?

Gives reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

What is the fault of animals to be utilised?

This is a violation of animal’s rights and a such of none merciful. In spite of, there are a group of people and the majority of biomedical's doctors who are agree with the using of animal in researches. The both opinions will be analysed.

The reason that the biomedical's researches use animals that is humans and animals are sharing hundreds of illness, so animals act as models for the study of human diseases. Besides, the vast majority of animals models are mice , and that’s because the mice sharing more than 98% DNA with humans. However , there are other animals are used too such as: rabbits and dogs. Also , animals are a guinea-pig , because they are susceptible to many of the same health problems as humans such as: cancer, diabetes and heart disease,etc. In addition, animals have a shorter life cycle than humans ,also they help the doctors in understanding how a diseases processes and how it interacts with the biological system. Stanford University said that “ they take the whole responsibility for the ethical treatment of animals in medical researches very seriously .”

On the other hand, the group who refuse to use the animals as experiments they said that “ no animal model is the same of human and there are still many differences between model organisms and humans. “ Furthermore, humans and animals doesn’t always react in the same way to a drug. Also, there are some medicines which fail in humans despite passing in animal, so this is not a criterion to be measured. This point of view know that there are many animals are used in experiments and killed

and this is immoral behave. In my own perspective , there is no such need to cause pain and suffering to animals. However, they can replace animals with human volunteers. These experiments made the animals as a hornet ,but they have to refining the way the animals are cared for to help to minimise any stress or pain. “Certain harm versus potential harms” which means the harm done to human beings by not experimenting on animals is unknown, whereas the harm done to animals is certain.

To sum up, the both opinions have pros and cons , even so the advocate opinion has more drawbacks than it’s benefits. No doubt, that those try-outs bring hope to many people with conditions such as : cancer, heart disease and Alzheimer disease.

Beyond, there are a lot of methods which called none- animal methods using human cells and tissues and also, studies with human volunteers. If you ask me I think that animals doesn’t deserve to being treated in a such cruel way and they have their own rights like humans also ,so save the animals and stop testing them.