Topic: To what extent has information technology reduced social inequality? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recent decades have witnessed the popularity of information technology (IT), some people believe that it can reduce social inequality. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons why I think that I can be one of the factors to decrease social inequality.

First of all, IT can enhance the capacity of students in many remote areas because IT staff may create numerous applications. Indeed, due to the distance limitation, hard copies of documents cannot delivered to remote places, which leads to the number of people who cannot read being quite high. Therefore, thanks to the development of IT, remote residents can easily access huge knowledge resources: for example, videos, soft-copy documents, Internet.

Furthermore, IT can help residents enhance their financial status. Indubitably, due to the widespread of e-commercials, a lot of people can sell their home-grown products on the websites to final consumers without any spending for middle sellers. Consequently, they can earn enough money to cover their basic needs. For example, Sùng Bầu, a woman in the North of Vietnam was born into a poverty family but she can sell numerous “ miến dong” which is local products to other people, even in the south of Vietnam. So not only her financial situation is enhanced but also the people around her.

In conclusion, I think that information technology (IT) can reduce social inequality because it helps remote people approach a huge knowledge resource via applications and numerous people who live in remote places can make money for a living through the websites.