Should college students be forced to take courses outside their main area of study? Why?

In colleges, students are imposed with variety of courses which are not related to the choice of main stream of study. Yes I certainly, agree to this type of forcefulness as they help us to gain more knowledge other than the main subject.

Generally, the side courses act as the catalyst to our major subject. Main stream course helps us to master the skills but to continue this learning process and get them into action we also need to undergo other new related courses to the main stream. For example, medical student during the process of college they are focused on medicine related subjects but, they are also forced to study computer applications which is totally out of field. However, when these students start practising as doctors, computers are needed on daily basis for them such as, to store patient details or also in field of imaging like X-ray, Scans.So the secondary subjects are also important.

On the other hand, forced subjects can be of added burden over the main subject. As the student has to focus on major and as well on minor subjects to get good performance at the end. Nevertheless, learning the course out of main stream can also develop interest to gain the depth knowledge. For example learning dance as side subject along with medicine can help to impose these movements to the patients after a depth study of bio-mechanics of the body and relative exercises or postures.

In conclusion, I certainly believe this implementation of secondary subjects to be considered of value, as they will be applied at some point of life.