Should education be free?

This is a controversial issue because it depends on many factors: the economy, politics, society of each country. In my opinion, free education is only suitable for developed countries, the rest should maintain the policy of socializing education and fee exemptions for poor people.

For developed countries, education free of charge is a form of investment priority for education. It does not affect the national budget but also benefits the economic development. It means that a poor student is also entitled to the same training as wealthy students. They have the opportunity to become great talented people who contribute to the nation, avoiding wasting the nation's gray matter or brain drain. When education is best invested, the country that owns the education will develop sustainably. Korea is a good example of a poor country that has become a world-developed country within 20 years due to investing in education. In addition, providing learning opportunities for everyone will also eliminate the gap and discrimination between the rich and the poor and bring about stable political security and prosperity for that country.

For poor countries, education socialization is a necessary policy to develop. Socialization of education is a process where both the community and society participate in. All organizations, families, and citizens have the responsibility to take care of the education career, coordinate with the school to implement the educational goals, build a healthy and safe educational environment. The socialization of education will contribute to reducing the burden of national budget invested for education. Diversifying training types and attracting more resources aims to improve the quality of education. However, in my opinion, these countries should maintain the policy of exemption and reduction of education fees, particularly for difficult people. Thus, everyone has opportunities to study, creating social justice. On the other hand, this also narrows the gap between the rich and the poor, avoiding distinguishing social class.

In short, tuition exemption and reduction policies should be applied completely or partially depending on the conditions of each country in each development phase. Some developed countries are now implementing this policy and strengthening intelligence for them.