Should governments regulate the fast food industries in the same way that regulates the drug, alcohol and tobacco industries?

In this day and age, there has been heated debate about whether or not authorities should control fast food industries in a similar way that drug, tobacco and alcohol ones are regulated. From my perspective, fast food sector is not that negative to deserve such tough restriction for the reasons below.

To begin with, fast food does not do so much harm to humans as drug, alcohol or tobacco. As a matter of fact, disputes over junk food only mention health problems such as obesity and cardiovascular diseases. Nonetheless, the three regulated substances even take their tolls on both health and social security. To illustrate, there is no injury that one can cause to another person by eating a quick meal, whilst a drug addict can commit serious crime namely robbery, kidnapping or murder with a view to feeding his addiction. In addition, only by a huge intake can junk food be detrimental, which is not the case with alcohol, drug or tobacco, as one glass of wine possibly leads to a severe accident on road.

Another reason for my opposition to the stringent management of fast food restaurants is that they play an vital role in national revenue. Let take Mc Donalds as a prime example. Admittedly, with thousands stores all over the world, it contributes billions dollars to the budget in terms of tax and profit. Furthermore, it is fast food chains that provide ample job opportunity, thus, lessen the amount of money wasting on unemployment issue.

Taking all reasons into account, I believe it will be more beneficial if the government keep the fast food industries under a less strict control than the other sectors including drug, tobacco and alcohol.