Governments should spend money on railways rather than on roads.

To what extent do you agree/disagree?

Transportation is undoubtedly matter of huge importance in modern days. One of the heated debate on this field lies in the question: Should governments invest on railways or roads. While many in favor of rail systems, I firmly believe that money spent on railways could be a loss in national budget, on the grounds of some following reasons.

On the one hand, rail networks triggers enormous drawbacks in terms of users and authorities. Firstly, it is irrefutable that railways are specified by an only vehicle – train, from which the lack of flexibility stems. Rail systems consequently, are unable to meet the demands of all inhabitants. To illustrate, train stations can not be reached immediately in emergency cases. Secondly, considering difficulties in construction namely geographic barriers, rail networks are obvious waste of money. Specifically, the unpopularity of railways even exacerbates the situation.

On the other hand, road investigation is more beneficial in reference to its advantages over railways. Admittedly, street transportation enables the flow of various vehicles, contradicts to the sole train on railways. Not only does this facilitate the development in national economy but also boost profits for non-government companies that manufacture vehicles. Furthermore, the spread of roads serves as constant supply for means of transportation. This is synonymous to easy access to almost all residential and community buildings within a city.

To recapitulate, spending money on roads brings greater bargain than on rail networks, according to the aforementioned arguments. As a result, government should take further consideration into this issue, for the sake of the citizens and the country itself.