Should old buildings be destroyed and replaced with modern ones?

It is easy to notice that there are many old buildings in modern cities today. While some people think they should be removed to make way for new ones, I tend to believe most of them should be better protected.

It is widely acknowledged that many old buildings are protected today because they are culturally valuable to a nation. Just like the native language, many historical buildings form a cultural identity and keep a unique record of a country, so they possess significant value to research into the past and play an important function in the education of future generations.

Moreover, old buildings, if utilized and preserved properly, could actually contribute to economic development. For example, the Eiffel Tower in Paris and the Forbidden City in Beijing, they exist as icons and landmarks of the city and nation, attract a large number of tourists every year, which brings millions of dollars in revenue for the government.

Nevertheless, we are not advocating equal treatment for all old buildings, and some of them do need to be torn down, partly because of safety concerns, and partly because they need to be replaced to meet the need of social development, such as raising the utilization rate of land. Despite this, many more historical buildings deserve our protection and we should not be blind to their worth; otherwise, we will regret loss in the years to come.

In summary, I believe that the protection of old buildings does not stand in the way of progress at all; instead, they play an indispensable role in reflecting history, and creating values in modern life. Governments should think carefully before making a move and deep awareness of conservation of ancient architecture should be highly promoted as well.