Should old buildings be destroyed and replaced with modern ones?

There is a common belief that old buildings are supposed to be destroyed and replaced with the current constructions. I hold the idea that the dilapidated houses should be removed, while the historic ones should be well preserved.

On the one hand, protecting the historical constructions may enjoy plenty of benefits. To begin with, they can expand the visitors’ outlook. In general, these buildings are a token of a city’s past, witnessing the development of the city. When visitors from all over the globe come to see them, they can come across plenty of ancient artifacts, thus increasing their historical knowledge. Also, the cherished constructions can bring in revenue to the local government. Once the visitors outside the city pay a visit to them, they have to spend a large amount of money on food, admission tickets and so forth. A large part of this expenditure may come to the government in the form of taxes.

On the other hand, dismantling the derelict residential houses and building modern ones can also be beneficial in many ways. To begin with, this action can bring convenience to the house owners. To be specific, modern houses are usually equipped with updated facilities, such as heating systems, which can help them avoid feeling cold in the winter. Besides, the dangerous buildings can be detrimental to the local people’s health if they are not destructed. The reason why the houses are called dangerous is that they may collapse at any situation, especially in bad weather. Accordingly, the people who are living in there are more likely to be hurt when the houses break down during a rain storm.

In conclusion, according to what has been discussed above, my firm conviction is that the buildings which possess historical values should be well protected, or the ones should be replaced by modern buildings.