should we study abroad?

Many people suppose that our college years go by instantly because it is just four years before graduating. While some people believe that study abroad makes your time in university remarkable and fascinating, it can also be argued that there still have several obstacles for international students. Should we go overseas to get professional education? It might not be a better option for many reasons.

First and foremost, students who study far away from home suffer more health problems, both mental and physical. In fact, we tend to set our hearts on homelands when we live separately. According to an American survey, 7 out of 10 persons who were studying abroad said that they always get homesick and some of them regularly felt stressed. Although many people believe that we were well-prepared after deciding to move to another country, we all know that there are unexpected situations. How can you bear the hypotension or the pressure lonely? Is it good to get through any problem by ourselves?

Next, learning internationally costs a fortune. In this era, due to the unbalance between rich and poor, there are not many people who can afford expensive costs - flights, housing, meals, tuition fees, however, the scholarship is purely a hardcore for us. Besides, transportation costs or buying tickets to go home from the outside is a severe pressure, namely, moving from America to Vietnam. Nowadays, there are more and more international-standard universities around the world, and thanks to the intersection of cultures, we now access to manifold cultures domestically. Is study locally a suitable choice?

Last but not least, living in a new area may cause a culture shock. It takes a long time to settle down with the new language and environment. Initially, language conflicts will slow down your degree program and make it more difficult to absorb the whole lecture. In addition, the differences in culture and manners will get you confused and pressured. Unfortunately, we have a bit of change when we head back to hometown, although we just get used to being in a new place.

In brief, there are many reasons to not study abroad. Although developed countries provide us with advanced material conditions and professional curriculums, our future depends on our exertion and capability. After all, the final purpose is to study efficiently and happily. As Mahatma Gandhi observed, “True education is about getting the best out of oneself”, we are free to study.