Smacking children is the best form of discipline. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Corporal punishment to children has been adapted for the disobedient child in recent days. Some parents believe it is the one and only medium to teach them about discipline. This essay will argue why physical punishment is completely unnecessary.

On the one hand, Parents believe that spanking child will be helpful to make them bound by rules. They also have faith in their nurturing way as it might be the quickest way to learn their sons or daughters about the right and wrong. Moreover, smacking children petrified them and develop cautiousness not to any sort of misbehaviour. A recent study in Bangladesh shows almost quarter of parents succeeded to develop the sense of right and wrong among the children with the using of corporal punishment. Therefore, guardians prefer to punish the next generation to stop their uncouth behaviour and reinforce good behaviour.

On the other hand, Children might find this sort of punishment as belittling and teach to loath the parents which is completely unwanted. If a child continuously face physical brutality, he or she will definitely possess the same behaviour in future as perpetuates a cycle of abuse. Not only that, physical punishment also affects the child’s self-esteem. For instance, in India more than 50 percent child face acute mental disorder in early life for those punishment they faced. So, for the development of a child it is unacceptable to hit them physically.

This essay argued that parents who used corporal punishment to children have flawed understanding of its instant result but underestimate the long term consequences that is more devastating for child’s life. In my opinion, smacking children is definitely not the best method to discipline them as it will make them fell worthless.