Small businesses are disappearing and being replaced by large multinational companies.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The fact that the multinational corporations are now expanding more and more make the small businesses to become bankrupt and turns out to have both positive and negative impacts. This essay will explain why the drawbacks of this development outweighs the benefits.

Firstly, the advantages of having multinational in a particular country is the local employment which the companies often provide. When a company or a plant are being built, they need not only material resource but man resource as well. Thus, many local people will be hired and potentially it will reduce the unemployment rate in a country. Small business also can provide the similar things, however the employees which they need are not so many as the big companies. As a result, the effect may be insignificant. For example, Starbucks Company, a multinational coffee shop company, are hiring many local citizens in Semarang, Indonesia, and this results the decreasing rate of unemployment in that area from 11% to 8%. Many small coffee shops are also being open up, however like what it is explained before, the employment number is just too small to be noticed.

However, multinational corporations also can become the source of environment pollution. Often they produce many products at once, making they make a lot of waste, which is dangerous for environment. Although many factors can be addressed in terms of environment violation, one of the biggest factor is the existence of big companies in the area. In China, there are so many raw-material companies for pharmaceutical usage. Currently those corporations are being criticized because of the ecological pollution. They are accused for the destruction of many rivers in China. Moreover, companies which are having so many branches in many countries also not always pro on the local workers. Despite of their generosity to recruit the local resource, they are often treated badly. Perhaps because the multinational companies are aiming for their own profits, so the may reduce the expenses as low as possible - including the salary of their worker.

To conclude, it is true that multinational corporations are making a good way to reduce unemployment rate, however the costs of their existence are believed to overcome the benefits.