Some people think high-end technology can prevent and cut down the rate of committing crime. Do you agree or disagree?

Parts of society believe that the number of law violation acts could be restrained by utilizing cutting-edge technology. In this essay, I partly disagree regarding the statement because while refined technology offers a better security, the perpetrator could adapt to technology as well and potentially breaches the sophisticated surveillance.

First of all, advanced devices offer a better crime prevention tool and turn security systems to become more agile. Because, they help law enforcers to do their job such as mapping crime and detecting suspicious anomalies. Moreover, obtained data from the devices could be connected to a virtual storage system, cloud, thus ease the law officer’s investigation. Drone, one of technological products, nowadays is widely used in many countries as an observation tool. There is a possibility in the future, that drone could be used as a surveillance agent to improve a nation’s defence. However, crime is changing in this digital age and many unprecedented crimes occur since evil doers adapt to the era as well.

Perpetrators are not a bunch of blinded-technology people. They often one step ahead, utilize up-to-date devices. Their modus always shifts from time to time, to break the law security. For this reason, even a super advanced technology which is used in a security system is still possible to be cracked by the villain. Cyber crimes for example. In the past many thought that digital transactions were the best way to secure their money because it was formless. Yet, lawbreakers such as hackers successfully passed digital security and robbed a great amount of money.

All in all, advanced technology might help the police to suppress the illegal activities. Nevertheless, criminals adaptation to technology would be an obstacle to meet a low rate crime society.