Some people think high-end technology can prevent and cut down the rate of committing crime. Do you agree or disagree?

Technology advancement/advent has a great impact on every aspect of life. Many people believe that top-notch technology can dramatically reduce the crime rate. However, my viewpoint is that high-end technology can otherwise be adopted by criminals for committing sophisticated criminal cases.

Cyber crime is increasing significantly, which has been considered as one of the most dangerous types of crime in the 21st century. Offenders usually exploit the vulnerability of security systems to steal confidential documents or personal information for illegal purposes. Take a case of a famous Vietnamese singer as an example, the security cameras installed in her house were cracked and controlled by a group of hackers. They leaked all her personal photos online to tarnish her reputation. It is undeniable that there are many information leakage cases occurring all over the world, but the effort for preventing this crime is getting pointless.

Furthermore, cutting-edge technologies might make conventional crimes such as trafficking, money laundering or murder more complex. Dangerous criminals will use innovative technologies to serve their criminal acts. For example, in one criminal case, the traffickers cracked into the GPS system to mislead the police while they are tracking them. Similarly, a serial murderer livestreamed his crime scenes to draw public attention so that the police might be distracted by the press and the crowd. Hence, it is agreed that high-tech tools were ineffective in controlling crimes worldwide.

In conclusion, crime rate is elevating despite the development of technology, thus, governing bodies should work for paramount causes of crime rather than relying on technology to control criminal commitments.