Small businesses are disappearing and being replaced by large multinational companies. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In this competitive global economy, there has been an increase in the disappearance of small businesses due to the growth of multinational giants. Although there can be no doubt that this phenomenon is beneficial to society to a certain extent, I assert the belief that the disadvantages bear a greater significance.

On the one hand, proponents of the replacement of small corporations with cross-national ones emphasize product quality. Shoppers can get exposed to well-qualified products from different nations and excellent customer service. The multinational business remains competitive in the market by consistently offering quality products. If there are any complaints, they are willing to offer compensation and apologize to the customers, promising to improve their products. For instance, Toyota is one of the leading companies specializing in cars. Years ago, the engine in one product line did not work properly; they recalled all products and repaired them for free. They always try to maximize customer satisfaction in order not to face any potential collapse due to a decrease in their prestige.

On the other hand, despite the above-mentioned virtues of the alternation of business type, there is an ethical issue related to its adverse effects on unemployment. Firms with fewer than 500 employees account for around 44% of the US economic activities, according to a recent report, and they employ almost half of the American workers. This means that if these corporations face financial crisis, they will have to pay in arrears to all their employees, or even worse, a myriad of workers can be made redundant. The nation’s overall economic development and living standards of the general public will be enormously affected. Another point worth considering is that small financial institutions usually provide a personalized shopping experience, while cross-border ones focus on the needs of the majority of the population. Once the small business disappears, the niche market can also vanish and several customers with unique interests and styles cannot find anything that suits them.

In conclusion, while there are some advantages regarding small businesses being alternated by multinational companies, I believe that the drawbacks that result from this practice are of more vital significance. It is recommended that the governments take feasible methods to offer opportunities for businesses with a slight number of workers to develop.