Smart devices have put all of the world’s information at our fingertips. The

benefits of this development are obvious, but what are the drawbacks?

People today are capable of accessing the internet through their mobile smart

device. This puts them in touch with an extremely large amount of information.

Although this trend has many positive ramifications, such as interconnectivity

between people and the spreading of understanding, it is not without drawbacks. To

illustrate this, the effect smart devices have on their user’s memory and privacy will

be analysed.

For one, smart devices have caused people to rely less on their memories. For example, sites like Wikipedia make it easy for smartphone users to quickly access information on almost any topic. The problem with this convenience is that it encourages

people to commit fewer and fewer things to memory, and this makes humanity’s collective understanding of the world increasingly dependent on machinery. Thus, this

is one of the main drawbacks to having unrestricted access to information through

smart devices.

In addition to this, smart devices reduce people’s privacy, which can lead to unwanted exposure to public scrutiny and ridicule. For instance, last year a child in America

was unknowingly filmed by his classmate while performing an embarrassing dance

routine. After the video was uploaded to the internet, this child suffered extreme

teasing and ultimately developed anxiety issues. As this shows, the exchanging of

information through smart devices is not always a positive thing.

As the above makes clear, smartphone use can weaken a user’s memory and reduce

their privacy, two unfortunate drawbacks to a tool that has otherwise been very

positive for humanity. These drawbacks will likely remain ongoing obstacles into the

foreseeable future.