Social media and internet

The internet and social media have given increased power to private individuals, online influencers, and organized online groups to make an impact on public impression, reputation, and viability. In fact, this power has grown great enough that it has become possible for such entities to use the web as a platform for dismantling the public standing of celebrities, public office holders, and media figures. This dismantling has been referred to as cancel culture, the act of "cancelling" the visibility, influence, and career of individuals perceived to have acted improperly from their public position. Individuals perceived as guilty of certain offenses—from hateful language or indecent public behavior to sexual assault or other violent crimes—may find themselves at the center of either organic or coordinated online attacks through social media, blog formats, and even through aggressive tactics like doxing (public release of private information) and death threats. The goal is essentially to shame, intimidate and professionally destroy an individual to the end of being "cancelled."

Cancel culture may be seen as a catch-all for movements aimed at capturing social justice by using the tools for campaigning, communication and organization made possible online. For advocates, these tools are seen as ways of being empowered to resist long-standing forms of abuse and prejudice. This is perhaps best demonstrated in the sweeping #MeToo movement, which employed the hashtag to empower women victimized by sexual abuse, sexual assault, and rape to tell their stories. This, in turn, led to revelations of numerous individuals in positions of power who were guilty of such offenses, and in turn, made them among the first notable public figures to be "cancelled." Advocates for various strategies that might be termed "cancel culture" see their actions as redressing historical inequalities and bringing greater accountability to the behavior of individuals in positions of power.

Those who oppose cancel culture may view its tactics as an assault on the right to privacy and a way of trying individuals publicly for offenses without any meaningful "due process." Some critics have likened cancel culture to a witch hunt in which public figures are targeted for various personal, political, and ideological reasons. To its opponents, cancel culture is coordinated internet trolling aimed at destroying reputations and livelihoods without the substantiation of evidence. Some corporate leaders, political figures, and celebrities have expressed concern or fear over meeting what they see as changing expectations of public figures.

At the center of the cancel culture issue is the unrestrained power of groups, organizations, and communities to use their voice both to elevate and dismantle public reputations as well as a shifting understanding of power dynamics and the behavior expected of those in positions of power