Society is becoming obsessed with material goods like fast cars, designer clothes and flashy jewellery. We have stopped caring about important things and that is why divorce rate are so high and family bonds are not as strong anymore, our value system is disintegrating. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Our society has an obsession with physical goods such as fast automobiles, designer clothes and flashy jewelry. Consequently, this obsession has caused more divorces and weakened familial connection. From my perspective, this phenomenon is true.

Firstly, material goods are made to satisfy people’s fundamental needs and basic amenities. For example, humans have invented cars for travelling over long distances and to make the journey more comfortable. This has contributed to globalization. Thus, tangible items are necessary for the operation of our society and its members. However, material possessions can be used to judge one’s social status. For instance, Gucci clothes represent wealthiness. Consequently, people strive to acquire such items to earn respect from others. As a result, some, although are not rich, attain those products in exchange of their own intangible assets such as family bondage. Therefore, tangible items can contribute to the degradation of the happinessò individuals living in modern society.

Secondly, material goods can distract us from the core values of life. For example, when people go shopping, their brain releases dopamine, which creates the sensation of pleasure. Thus, individuals are inclined to shop more even though there are other products that bring long-term benefits including books, which can teach its readers meaningful life lessons. This, in turn, has multiple implications such as in child raising or interpersonal relationships. Thus, the individual would enjoy long-term happiness derived from the pursuit of knowledge, which is important in life.

To conclude, it is undeniable that physical goods are a cornerstone of modern society. However, it has can distract people from reaching fulfillment in life.