Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People’s opinions about the most pressing concern nowadays is divided between the extinction of certain flora and fauna and other issues. From my perspective, the latter viewpoint is more important.

On the one hand, the loss of species of specific plants and animals is likely to have little effect on human society. Because humans mostly live on common livestock and vegetables instead of exotic beings and rare plantations. However, the loss of biodiversity does have long-term repercussions on human civilization. As plants and animals disappear, hidden opportunities for advances in technology that are derived from them are lost too. Consequently, human progress might be halted in the future. Nonetheless, there are conservation centres that retain a small proportion of such species and thus, the opportunities for advances in science-related fields are preserved.

On the other hand, environmental challenges such as global warming have apocalyptic consequences to human as a whole. In the short-term, phenomenons like rising sea levels and wildfires, which are fostered by climate change, cause the loss of both human lives and wildlife. For example, in Australia’s widespread forest fire in 2019, over a billion animals are estimated to have died and the human death toll is high. In the long-term, sea level surges and invades land, which reduces space available for agriculture. Consequently, mass hunger occurs due to shortage in food production. Moreover, the longer humans wait, the worse the effects of global warming would be. For instance, if human beings do not reduce their carbon emissions now then the global temperatures in the future would be higher than what it would be if humans did.

To conclude, although the loss of biodiversity can impede human progress, it is prevented with preservation organizations. In contrast, other environmental problems like global warming have severe impacts on humans at present and in the future. Furthermore, environmental issues like these require immediate reaction by governments.