Society is becoming obsessed with material goods like fast cars, designer clothes and flashy jewellery. We have stopped caring about important things and that is why divorce rate are so high and family bonds are not as strong anymore, our value system is disintegrating. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Society is moving away from fundamental concepts towards materialism. Consequently, divorce rates have risen significantly and family ties have weakened, all of which indicate the disintegration of our value system. From my perspective, this viewpoint is partially true.

Firstly, materialistic lifestyle have contributed to the degradation of the quality of life of members of modern society. This is because individuals these days believe that success is associated to wealth. Although this viewpoint is not new, it is bolstered by the mass media in today’s society. Therefore, many individuals are under the misconception that rich people are sucessful. Consequently, the most common way of demonstrating one’s wealth is to possess as much high-quality and luxurious goods as possible. These citizens are then trapped in an endless cycle of work to buy then to work and buy again as the marketplace is always manufacturing new products and fashion trends are always changing. As a result, such individuals suffer stress from overworking, depression from lack of true friends and envy to richer individuals. Therefore, consumerism degrades people’s life quality and their family members also as they have less time together and thus less understanding.

However, materialism is necessary as it employs people and provide basic necessities and amenities to individuals. For example, people need to have enough food, adequate clothes, housing and so on. Therefore, individuals need to work to have the money to buy the goods they need while products need to be sold to create employment for people. These two concepts of working and buying is inextricably linked together. For instance, if citizens stopped purchasing things, there would be no need for workers and thus no money for people to buy things. Consequently, the global economy would be in a turmoil.

To conclude, materialism is a fundamental part of our society to provide job and meet people’s basic needs. However, it is misused as a tool to measure one’s social status, which shift one’s focus from the things that matter the most to them and degrade their life quality.