Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The loss of particular species of plants and animals is more important essay ( fixed )

The loss of certain flora and fauna is believed to be the primary environmental concern nowadays. However, some say that other global issues are more serious. From my perspective, the former viewpoint is more correct.

On the one hand, environmental challenges besides the loss of biodiversity have multiple adverse impacts on human civilization, most pressing of which is climate change. Firstly, global warming causes extreme weather conditions. For example, summers get hotter while winters are colder. This deters humans from enjoying outdoor activities, which stifles their life quality. Secondly, climate change also causes additional natural disasters. For instance, wildfires and floods are increasing as the world gets hotter and sea level rises. Consequently, humans’ lives are jeopardized.

On the other hand, animal and plant species are important to human beings’ progress. This is because in order to advance in scientific fields of our society, flora and fauna is vital. For example, the horseshoe crab is valuable to the medicinal field as its blood can prevent hemorrhage. Or how ants clot together in order to survive floods helps engineers research nanotechnology. Furthermore, protecting biodiversity can help fight other environmental problems such as global warming. For example, conserving whales’ population can help reduce the amount of CO2 in the atmosphere as whales absorb the pollutant.

To conclude, people should prioritize the protection of biodiversity over other global challenges such as climate change. Although global warming is detrimental to mankind in many aspects, it can be improved, while the extinction of flora and fauna is often irrevocable. Furthermore, preserving biodiversity can contribute to tackling other environmental issues.