The society would benefit from a ban on all forms of advertising because it serves no useful purpose, and can even be damaging. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people think that the whole society would benefit from a prohibition on advertising of all forms since it does no good and can even create an adverse impact. I totally disagree with this opinion for the following reasons.

Firstly, it is wrong to say that advertising serves no useful purpose. For companies, advertisements create brand awareness and boost sales, which is great for their business. If all forms of advertising are banned, products and services would become invisible; as a consequence, sales plummet and business fails. For the market economy, advertising fuels competition as it creates a platform on which brands compete to win customers' attention. The competition demands constant innovation and improvement which result in better products and services. This is undoubtedly good for customers in the end.

Secondly, as the advertising industry employs thousands of people, such a ban can push all of them out of work. More importantly, the ban not only affects individuals and families but also takes a toll on the society as a whole. The resulting tide of unemployment is a nightmare to any society since it breeds crime and social evils. Finally, the suggested ban signals doomsday for media and entertainment as even giants like Google or Facebook would no longer be able to milk their main cash cow which is advertising.

In conclusion, although advertisements can be disturbing and inappropriate sometimes, they are vital to the economy, businesses and individuals. It goes against the social progress if advertising is prohibited altogether.