The society would benefit from a ban on all forms of advertising because it serves no useful purpose, and can even be damaging. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been argued that a complete restriction on all forms of advertising would bring greater values for society as a whole, due to its apparent lack of useless and sometimes harmfulness. In my view, banning all forms of it could do more harm than good.

On the one hand, to claim that commercials have no use and are detrimental to consumers is completely ill-founded. In the modern world, new products with distinct and revolutionary feature better humans' life and solve problems that happens almost every day. Those products would remain unknown unless advertising the type of information needed to reach as many customers as possible. As a result of advertising, many businesses will thrive, and in turn, pay taxes to the government which will help contribute towards a variety of governmental systems, such as education, healthcare and social security. Such systems help to ensure the well-being of all citizens.

On the other hand, dependency on the advertising industry is inevitable for any nation to prosper. Once commercial experience a ban, unemployment rates would increase and the burden would fall on the state. For example, Coca Cola dispenses thousands of employment opportunities in advertising throughout its branches across different regions around the world. If adverts are forbidden, an unthinkable number of workers, such as marketers, would either move on to other jobs or become unemployed. As a result, government have to provide temporary financial support for those people. In other words, banning any forms of commercial communication would lead to reverse and undesirable implications on society.

In conclusion, it is unreasonable to presume that advertisements are irrelevant and need to be prohibited for the sake of societies best interests.