There are more workers to work from home and more students to study from home. This is because computer technology is more accessible and cheaper. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In the technological era today, PC technology is cheaper and affordable and more and more approachable to all walks of life. Therefore, many people are opting to work and study from their home. In my perspective, this tendency brings both positive and negative impacts.

On the one hand, there is some certain disadvantage of working and distance learning. First of all, it can be isolation, stubbornness, lack of professionalism and loss of promotion opportunities in their career because there is no active supervision so it is possible that employees working from home will be negligent, involuntary and lack of focus on work goals. In addition, a limitation should be considered, with the form of remote working, the information connection with organizations will be loose, they will rarely exchange and share with their colleagues and that will make them feel that strange to the development of their company. There is a wide range of options for entertainment such as films, music and games broadcasted on the internet, which easily make distracted online learners. Distance learning, hence, requires steely determination and study through the internet may not be really effective without this quality.

However, this trend also has some noticeable benefits. Firstly, working at home brings for workers the comfort and freedom everyone wants. They will not need to comply with workplace rules such as dress, style, time and location. Secondly, this form of work not only help employees and company saving travel expenses but also avoid traffic congestion, which is of common occurrence in major cities. Tele-learning meets the need of learners who want to learn anytime and anywhere they want. It saves educational time for students, according to compared to traditional training methods, studying from home help pupils save about 20% to 40% of the time due to reduced moving time.

In conclusion, for the reasons aforementioned above, I think that advantageous impacts of this tendency can overshadow that of disadvantage.