In some area of the US, a ‘curfew’ is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult.

What is your opinion on this?

Recently, in some regions of United States, a new law is imposed that adolescents are not allowed to go out of the doors, or they should go out accompanied by an adult family member or a friend. Some people strongly agree with this new law, while others are in consummate discord with it, and I agree with them. I will discuss both vies in my essay.

On the one hand, most parents feel pleased with the ‘curfew’. It is of no question that most illegal activities happen during night hours. Teenagers are undoubtedly a very sensitive group which are threatened by such criminal bands, drug sellers, murderers, hijackers and so on. Apparently, these band influence teens negatively by robbing of their monies of valuable items. There is yet another dimension to this. If juveniles are allowed to go outdoors at night, they will be prone to take part in illegal activities. Therefore, accompanying parents, prevents them from being involved in such devastating situations.

On the other hand, some people argue that running this new legislation is nothing but a harsh strategy. If one teen aged child, for instance, encounters an urgent circumstance that makes him to go out alone at night hours, will he supposed to be arrested by the police only for not obeying the ‘curfew’ law? Furthermore, promoting this legislation induces a negative thought over children who are observed alone outside at night. Nevertheless, some scholars opine that it is the government, not the families, that is responsible to bring about harsh legislation over criminals. If delinquents received more district penalties, there would be a considerable enhancement in security of cities, even in dark hours.

To sum up, obviously it is indispensable that parents accompany their children when going out of the doors in a particular time at night, however, I believe there are far superior strategies to control the situation, rather than being forced to capitulate such harsh codes.