In some area of the US, a ‘curfew’ is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion on this?

The young people must obey a ‘curfew’ in some parts of America, and this means they are not allowed to go outside alone after a certain time at night. In my opinion, the advantages of this regulation overweigh its drawbacks.

I think to impose the ‘curfew’ can bring three benefits. Firstly, the ‘curfew’ can ensure the safety of teenagers , because if children stay out late at night, they would become victims of crimes and accidents. Secondly, staying at home after dinner means the young students have more time to do homework and study, which has positive effects on their academic achievements. For example, my nephew who used to play outside late got higher score in his exams after he was required to stay at home during night. Finally, the limit is also a good way to prevent juvenile delinquency, since children might easily be lead to participate gang crimes if they sneak out of the house and stay with some bad people.

On the other hand, it is true that there are also some disadvantages to implement the ‘curfew’. First of all, this practice takes away the freedom and right of children to socialize, or to do part-time job, so they might lose many opportunities to learn useful skills and experience. Moreover, for some families in poor economic conditions, the ‘curfew’ may cause financial difficulties as the teenagers are unable to support their parents by doing some part-time work after school. In addition, when there is a set curfew and the parents are not at home, their children may sneak out the house without telling their parents where they are going, and this case may bring higher risk to their safety.

In conclusion, although a ‘curfew’ imposed to young people has some negative aspects, I believe that it has more positive effects on the growth of children.