In many countries, more and more men are staying at home to look after their children when women work full-time. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

In the modern world, it is not uncommon to see a man taking the role of stay-at-home father, while his spouse works as a breadwinner for the family. This phenomenon indicates an improvement in gender equality and I believe it is a positive trend.

Apparently, the major cause for this change is that more people have abandoned the traditional beliefs about women’s role in the society. Traditionally, women were limited in their roles. They were once seen as only needed to bear children and take care of household activities such as cooking and cleaning, while their husbands would feed the family. However,there has been a radical change in this case because of the numerous feminist movements in the past decades. Now more and more women are given the equal opportunities to receive education and pursue a successful career, thus some males began to leave the task of feeding the family to their higher paid wives, and undertake the duty of caring for children back at home.

In my view, this trend is definitely a sign of social progress. We all know that both genders have their own merits, however the traditional beliefs related to gender discrimination could deprive a women of the rights and chances to fully use and develop her talents in the workplace. Thanks to the rise in the public awareness of gender equality, a great number of excellent females are encouraged to become productive members in various fields of the world. This is definitely beneficial to the society as a whole.

In conclusion, the redefinition of women’s role in the society results in the shift of the family duties between the two genders, and I strongly believe this is a positive development.