In some areas of the US a curfew is imposed in which teenagers are not allowed to be outdoors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult.

What is your opinion about this?

Teenagers in certain parts of the United States cannot go outside their homes in the night after a specific time without an adult who was accompany them due to the fact this situation leads children getting crime and juvenile delinquency.

Violent crimes are most likely to occur at night, and some accidents such as snatchers occur in children who go alone. Snatchers commit crimes in insufficient places because they currently believe that no one can eliminate them. As a result, when it happens, yelling to ask for help is useless. According to the BBC report claim that 80% of violent crimes occur between 10 pm to 3 am, and when the police officer asks one of the snatchers, they claim that a woman who goes alone is the most likely target. Although most crimes occur at night, this might happened during the day if they cannot protect themselves. Crime such snatchers, not the only accident that occurs at night, but also juvenile delinquency.

Why does juvenile delinquency also occur at night? There is a strong relationship between students going out at night and delinquency because in the US drugs are almost trafficked at night, and drug dealers want to invest in young people, especially teenagers to increase addiction in the community to increase their drug market. In fact, teens who abuse drugs are more likely to struggle with addiction later in life and have permanent and irreversible brain damage. A 2018 National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) reports that drug abuse is a growing problem among teens, and the majority of them were caught using drugs at night in several clubs. Although most drug abuse occurs at night, it cannot be claimed that all teens who carry out their activities at night are drug users because drug abuse can also occur during the day if a child is not supervised by parents.

In conclusion, I totally agree when the US applies the law that teens are not allowed to go alone after a certain time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult because some crime is happening right now. However, police officers should enhance security because some activities should be organized at night.