Some believe that the government should impose heavy tax on smoking and alcohol to reduce its consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Smoking in public places is very harmful to human health. Therefore, it is believed that heavy taxes need to be imposed to reduce the consequences of smoking. In my opinion, I partially agree and partially disagree with that statement. And this essay will take a look at some effects of imposing the taxes on smoking and alcohol.

To begin with, increasing taxes will make reduce the consumption of smoking, especially for both teenagers and people who hardly ever smoke. Furthermore, the smell of cigarettes seems to decline in public places, as a result, the fewer gas releases, and the fewer people are affected by their health, as well as the atmosphere in crowded places will be cleaner and more civilized. For example, in the US, before imposing the taxes, a person often smokes a lot of gases in public places, surrounding people, even near and far, unfortunately, breathe those gases that easily affect their lungs. After the rising taxes, it seems to be less common.

However, besides the effectiveness of rising taxes, some heavy smokers do not quit smoking habits except for the increase in taxes so they do not want to decline their consumption. Therefore, the rate of lung cancer will raise.

In conclusion, personally, I still believe that the government needs to increase taxes to prevent the consequence of smoking. It is likely that heavy smokers need to cure lung cancer and avoid addiction through rehabilitation centers. Moreover, the environment will be more civilized than before because of the effectiveness of reducing the consequences of smoking.