Some believe that people should not continue to work once they reach the age of retirement. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The continuity of working after the age of retirement is always a hot-debated topic that has many different opinions. While, from my point of view, I agree that the elderly should enjoy their old age without working, I believe that they can maintain their career no matter how old they are.

On the other hand, the employment opportunities in this day and age are extremely limited so it should be given for young people, who are and will be the future of the countries. There are thousands of students graduating from universities over the world every day, giving rise to the demand for jobs and careers. However, companies and enterprises cannot create thousands of new position in their business, especially when the senior generation still maintain their own works. This is true of developing countries in general and Vietnam in particular, in which university bachelors or even young masters could not find any employment suitable for their levels and degrees.

On the one hand, the experience and the wisdom of the senior generation is the treasure for young people to counsel. By dint of real-life experiences accumulated from the past, the senior leaders may help young businessmen to run their business more efficiently and effectively. That is the reason why retired people can maintain their own position in the organizations though there is no shortage of young talent. By way of illustration, Warren Buffet currently reaches the age of ninety but he still works harder and harder on a daily basis. In addition, several countries which have high percentages of old citizens such as Japan, Germany, and Italy, you name it, do not have enough young labors, so the retired people have to stay in their works until they cannot do anymore.

In conclusion, while the unemployment rate can affect the policy of retirement, I individually do not believe that age is a considerable factor outweighing others.