Some believe that people will purchase a product based on their needs and advertising is not needed.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Marketing and advertising have always been an integral part of the sales process. While many argue that advertisement serves no real purpose as necessity motivates all purchases, others are of the opinion that advertising has an impact on sales. I agree with the latter view as advertisements offer many other benefits to the manufacturers.

To begin with, it is undeniable that advertising increases profits as it plays a major role in convincing people to buy the advertised product by giving the feeling that life with it can be happier and more comfortable. For example, studies have shown that even if a particular product is widely consumed, using adverts will spur more people to make the purchase, which of course ensure the success of the business. In addition to that, adverts are essential to illustrate the benefits of the product and explain how it functions.

On the other hand, advertising encourages loyalty among customers and increase their trust in the company. This would restrict any competition from other manufacturers who wish to produce similar products. For instance, the engaging and continuous advertising of Pepsi cola has made it the dominating soft drink brand even though several other companies are trying to make a name in this industry. Thus the role of advertising extends beyond providing entertainment. It builds brand value and recognition.

In conclusion, after analysing the previous points, it is clear that promoting products is vital as many positive merits are drawn from this practice. Therefore, it is recommended that all companies launch advertising campaigns that allow their products to reach the widest possible market.